Skip to main content

Makowski Award for Most Outstanding MS-RSM Student

The Makowski Award recognizes a single exemplary Northwestern University Master of Science in Reproductive Science and Medicine (MS-RSM) student based on their academic performance, engagement in the Center for Reproductive Science (CRS), overall contributions to reproductive science and medicine, and future plans to continue training or stay involved in the field.

This award is endowed by the family of Edgar Makowski, MD, a prominent physician who practiced at the University of Colorado and whose named endowed chair is now held by T. Rajendra Kumar, PhDKumar,  the Edgar L., Patricia M. Makowski and Family Endowed Chair in the division of reproductive sciences and associate vice chair of research in the department of obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, has partnered with the CRS to confer the annual Makowski Award for Most Outstanding MS-RSM Student.

Previous Recipients & Thesis Projects

Graduation Year Recipient Thesis Mentor Thesis Title

Randa Abboud

Joshua Halpern

"Fertility Preservation in Transfeminine Patients"


Chanakarn Suebthawinkul, MD

Francesca Duncan

"Quantitative morphokinetic parameters identify novel dynamics of oocyte meioticmaturation and cumulus expansion"


Hannah Anvari

Francesca Duncan &
Melissa Simon

"Comparison of ovarian aging markers does not reveal differences between black and white women" 


Emily Hayes

Teresa Woodruff

"Integrins: The Alarm Clock that Wakes Up Our Follicles?"


Jennifer Rowley

Francesca Duncan

"The Ovarian HyaluronanNetwork is Dysregulated with Advanced Reproductive Age"


Luhan Tracy Zhou

Francesca Duncan

"O-GlcNAcylation is a highly conserved modification with distinct subcellular targets during meiosis in bovine and human gametes"

Follow CRS on InstagramFacebook