Skip to main content

The Center for Reproductive Science had a blast at the 2018 SSR Annual Meeting in New Orleans!

By: Chelsea Castleberry, CRS Program Assistant, July 18th, 2018

Many members of the CRS Community attended the Society for the Study of Reproduction (SSR) 5th Annual Meeting, July 10-13th, in New Orleans, Louisiana. Reproductive scientists from around the globe gathered for this four-day long meeting, which included lectures, committee meetings, poster sessions, workshops, symposiums, and receptions!

Rexxi Prasasya, PhDOur very own, CRS Director Dr. Teresa K. Woodruff, took home the 2018 SSR Trainee Mentoring Award, for which our CRS Executive Director, Dr. Francesca E. Duncan, provided a thoughtful introduction. She was nominated for this award by Dr. Duncan, Dr. Daniel Bernard (one of her first Post-doctoral Fellows and now a Professor at McGill University), Dr. Shuo Xiao (a former Post-doctoral Fellow and now an Assistant Professor at the University of South Carolina), Dr. Karen Schindler (a career mentee and an Associate Professor at Rutgers University), and Maxwell Edmonds (a current MD/PhD student in the Woodruff Lab).

The CRS was well represented at the meeting! Numerous CRS Members presented posters, including Nathaniel Henning, Kelly Even, Maxwell Edmonds, Hong Zhou, Kelly McKinnon, PhD, Yi Luan, MS, Emma Gargus, Jiyang Zhang, MS, Hunter Rogers, Yu-Ying Chen, Rexxi Prasasya, PhD, Sarah Wagner, Alexandra Fontaine, Julia Balough, and Luhan Tracy Zhou, MS. Tracy and Nathaniel also presented flash talks!

Dr. So-Youn Kim delivered a platform presentation on her work: “Transient inhibition of p53 homologs protects ovarian function from two distinct apoptotic pathways triggered by anti-cancer therapies.”

Julie Kim, Joanna Burdette, Shiying JinOther CRS attendees included Drs. Kelly Mayo, Julie Kim, Pamela Monahan, Beth Sefton, Monica Laronda, and Margrit Urbanek.

Dr. Francesca Duncan participated in the Trainee Forum Panel focused on “transitions” as well as the Trainee/Mentor Luncheon. Drs. Duncan, Monahan, and Sefton are also active committee members for the upcoming year – participating in the Program (Duncan), Publications (Duncan), and Diversity (Sefton and Monahan) committees.

We also enjoyed visiting with several CRS Alumni, including Drs. Joanna Burdette, Shou Xiao, Daniel Bernard, Ulrike Luderer, Shiying Jin, Stephanie Pangas, and Diana Monsivais, along with the next generation members of the CRS lineage.

Check out more pictures from the event on our Facebook page. We look forward to the 2019 SSR Annual Meeting in San Jose!