Skip to main content

Erwin Goldberg Lectureship in Male Reproduction

Kelly Mayo delivers the Erwin Goldberg LectureThe CRS celebrates Dr. Erwin Goldberg each year with the Erwin Goldberg Lectureship in Male Reproduction.

A reproductive biologist, Dr. Goldberg has sought to extend basic observations from the lab to the bedside throughout his career. His landmark observation that there is a unique enzyme (LDH-C4, lactate dehydrogenase) in the testis, is a foundation for understanding how sperm are produced. He also cloned and sequenced the LDH-C gene and successfully targeted the disruption of the gene which results in male infertility. This finding was integral to the understating of sperm function, and important to diagnosis of male infertility.

Dr. Goldberg is an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and has received the Distinguished Service Award and the Distinguished Andrologist Award from the American Society of Andrology, of which he also served as President. He has been a member of the ASA since it was founded in 1975. He has also received an Honorary Doctorate of Science Degree from the State University of New York.

The inaugural lecture took place in October 2017 with Dr. Kelly Mayo, the Walter and Jennie Bayne Professor of Molecular Biosciences at Northwestern University's Weinberg College of Arts & Sciences.

Please stay tuned for information regarding the 2022 Erwin Goldberg Lectureship in Male Reproduction. 





Thomas O’Halloran, PhD Michigan State University February 2021
Saher (Sue) Hammoud, PhD University of Michigan February 2020
Barry Zirkin, PhD Johns Hopkins University - Bloomberg School of Public Health January 2019
Kelly Mayo, PhD Northwestern University October 2017