Skip to main content

Makowski Award for Most Outstanding MS-RSM Student

Dr. T. Rajendra Kumar, Tenured Professor and Edgar L., Patricia M. Makowski and Family Endowed Chair in the Division of Reproductive Sciences, and Associate Vice-Chair of Research in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, has partnered with the Northwestern Center for Reproductive Science to confer the annual Makowski Award for Most Outstanding MS-RSM Student as part of the Master of Science in Reproductive Science and Medicine (MS-RSM) program.

This award is endowed by the family of Dr. Edgar Makowski, a prominent physician who practiced at the University of Colorado and whose named Endowed chair is now held by Dr. Kumar. The Makowski Award recognizes a single exemplary MS-RSM student based on their academic performance, engagement in the Center for Reproductive Science, overall contributions to reproductive science and medicine, and future plans to continue training or stay involved in the field.

Dr. Kumar and his family together with Dr. and Mrs. Edgar Makowski in 2016.

Dr. Kumar and his family together with Dr. and Mrs. Edgar Makowski in 2016.

Past Recipients:

Graduation Year Recipient Thesis Mentor Thesis Title
2023 Randa Abboud Joshua Halpern Fertility Preservation in Transfeminine Patients
2022 Chanakarn Suebthawinkul, MD Francesca Duncan Quantitative morphokinetic parameters identify novel dynamics of oocyte meioticmaturation and cumulus expansion
2021 Hannah Anvari Francesca Duncan & Melissa Simon Comparison of ovarian aging markers does not reveal differences between black and white women
2020 Emily Hayes Teresa K. Woodruff Integrins: The Alarm Clock that Wakes Up Our Follicles?
2019 Jennifer Rowley Francesca Duncan The Ovarian HyaluronanNetwork is Dysregulated with Advanced Reproductive Age
2018 Luhan Tracy Zhou Francesca Duncan O-GlcNAcylation is a highly-conserved modification with distinct subcellular targets during meiosis in bovine and human gametes