Skip to main content

Constance Campbell Trainee Travel Award

Constance CampbellConstance Campbell did her postdoctoral training with Professor Neena Schwartz at the University of Illinois at Chicago. In 1974, she was hired as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at Northwestern where her research focused on the relationship between the environment and sexual and other behaviors. Professor Campbell administered the undergraduate honors program. She also served as a preceptor in the Program for Reproductive Biology that Professor Schwartz organized and that preceded the Center for Reproductive Science. The Program launched the first Mini-symposium in Reproductive Biology in 1980 with Connie's enthusiastic participation. Professor Campbell was promoted to Associate Professor and granted tenure in 1980, however, lost her battle with cancer only a year later.

Connie cared deeply about student research. In her memory, her husband Dr. Jack Davis, family, friends, and colleagues established the Constance Campbell Memorial Fund. Since 1989, this fund has been used for the Constance Campbell Memorial Research Awards and Trainee Travel Awards. Funds from these awards can be used by its recipients to help defray travel costs to scientific meetings and conferences. The first recipients of the Constance Campbell Trainee Travel awards were announced at the 33rd Mini-symposium on Reproductive Biology.

Donations continue to be accepted for this scholarship fund.

Past recipients of this prestigious award and their respective scientific meetings include:
Date Recipient Meeting
Fall 2018 Carissa Heath American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) Annual Conference, December 8-12, 2018, in San Diego, CA
Alexandria Young EORTC-NCI-AACR Molecular Targets & Cancer Therapeutics meeting, November 13-16, 2018, in Dublin, Ireland.
Courtney Harris, MD Academic Surgical Congress meeting, February 5-7, 2019, in Houston, Texas.
Spring 2018 Julia Geynisman-Tan, MD International Continence Society meeting, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Nathaniel Henning Society for the Study of Reproduction (SSR), New Orleans, Louisiana
Yi Luan, MS SSR, New Orleans, Louisiana
Rexxi Prasasya, PhD SSR, New Orleans, Louisiana
Jeff Schneider, PhD HVTN meeting, Washington, D.C.
Yinu Wang, PhD AACR, Targeting DNA Methylation and Chromatin for Canter Therapy meeting, Atlanta, Georgia
Ian Wolff EMBO|EMBL Symposium Microtubules meeting, Heidelberg, Germany
Jiyang Zhang, MS SSR, New Orleans, Louisiana
Luhan Tracy Zhou, MS SSR, New Orleans, Louisiana
Fall 2017 Anne Dude Society for Maternal Fetal Medicine, Dallas, Texas
Arangassery Rosemary Bastian HIV Research for Prevention (HIVR4P) meeting, Madrid, Spain
Amanda Roca

 American Society for Cell Biology meeting, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Dana Kimelman

 Society for Reproductive Investigation (SRI) Annual Scientific meeting, San Diego, California

Spring 2017 Ann Marie Carias

Mucosal Systems Meeting, Banff, Canada

Margaux Kanis

European Society for Radiotherapy and Oncology, Vienna, Austria

Kelly McKinnon

Gordon Research Conference – Epithelial Differentiation, Lucca (Barga), Italy

2015 Lia Bernardi

Society for the Study in Reproduction (SRR) 2015

Antonia Navarro

ENDO 2015

Rexxi Prasasya

SSR 2015

Shuo Xiao

SSR 2015

2014 Seth Garwin

Frontiers in Reproduction

Allison Goetsch

American Society for Reproductive Medicine Annual Meeting

Jessica Hornick

Meiosis Gordon Conference

Nisan Hubbard


Monica Laronda